Thread: Is this a good rod for muskie fishing/what reel?

Is this a good rod for muskie fishing/what reel?

Good morning

Some time back I picked up a 7' Fenwick Legacy XH Conventional Rod rated 1-4oz and 15-30lb test.

I would like to try muskie fishing. Is this a good rod and what reel would you suggest for it.

Thanks for your time.

I have no experience with the rod in question but a quick Google search shows it's a baitcasting model. With its ratings I think it will work well as a starter rod. As you get into the sport more you will find newer rods are lighter with faster actions and generally more life in the blank ... and that's usually the beginning of the slipper slope of acquiring tackle for musky fishing.

The rod's line rating requires some interpretation. Most musky anglers use braided Spectra lines that test 65-, 80- or 100-pounds. The key here is they are very thin for their breaking strength and their diameter is equivalent to 16-, 18- or 20-pound test monofilament, respectively. You'll note all of these line diameters fit perfectly within the line rating of the rod. Most musky anglers choose 80-pound test braid, and good lines are made by PowerPro, Tufline, High Seas and Cortland, among others. Braided Spectra doesn't stretch or rot -- both qualities make it far superior to monofilament or Dacron.

For a baitcasting reel, the best inexpensive model I know of is Shimano's Cardiff, which should give you some good years of use. Better reels will cost $200-$500 and Shimano, Daiwa, Abu Garcia and Okuma all make some outstanding models.
    Steve Heiting

www.steveheiting.com

Thanks for your input.

Greatly appreciated

Quote Originally Posted by AlanJ View Post
    Good morning

Some time back I picked up a 7' Fenwick Legacy XH Conventional Rod rated 1-4oz and 15-30lb test.

I would like to try muskie fishing. Is this a good rod and what reel would you suggest for it.

Thanks for your time.