Thread: Split Rings vs Snap Swivels

Split Rings vs Snap Swivels

I was just wondering if anyone has had situations when using a split ring instead of a snap swivel on a solid wire leader where the wire works it's way around the split ring opening the connection. I've had it happen twice. Once I noticed it about half way around, the other not until I cast the bait off. I probably need to pay closer attention.

Go with a triple wound ring instead of the singles. The ring, some say, will impart a more direct action to the bait and is recommended to get the most rattle out of a rattle bait. The snaps are, of course, easier to operate when it comes to changing baits. m

I've been using the Fastach lure clip by Stringease for the past several years. Super easy to change lures,
    and I've never lost the clip or lure. They come in a variety of sizes and strengths.

Quote Originally Posted by jaydchad View Post
    I was just wondering if anyone has had situations when using a split ring instead of a snap swivel on a solid wire leader where the wire works it's way around the split ring opening the connection. I've had it happen twice. Once I noticed it about half way around, the other not until I cast the bait off. I probably need to pay closer attention.
    Why not just use a solid ring on the leader?

I've been making my own leaders for many years. I boated a pair of 40+ pound muskies three season ago. These fish caused me to re-think how I make my leaders.

Lately, I've been making more of my leaders with split rings to attach my lure to the leader. I've been using Bucher's split rings and haven't had a problem with the loop in the wire working its way around the split ring. The suggestion of using the Wolverine style 3-wrap style split rings is something that I should be checking out. I wonder if these wider split rings will still fit nicely into the loop on the wire. A few quick experiments will be conducted!