Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Braided Line Question

Braided Line Question

What's a good rule of thumb for changing braided line? I've been told that you can use it twice by cranking it onto another reel, so that you use both ends. Can you do something like one season per end (depending on how often you fish), or is it better to go by when it loses its color? Do you simply cut off the faded section and respool when it looks like it's too low?

I've been using braided superlines for quite a few years now, and have had issues with some breaking, and NEVER had failures with other brands. Obviously, the line performance varies by brand as well as rated lb test.

That said, I remember fishing with guides at a famous Canadian resort on Eagle lake who told me they fished a reel all year and didn't worry about their Stealth line failing!

I've been fishing that line (and a few others too) for many years without any line failures. I use quite a few rod/reel combos, but fish several times weekly throughout most of the musky season, and seldom change line more than once annually, and often once every two or three years.

I've been using mostly 80 or 100 lb test Stealth, 65 lb test Spiderwire Ultracast and 80 lb test Fireline. FYI, my experience with one of the original and most popular braided superline brands was not nearly as good.

I have reversed line, and have no problem with doing that, noting I typically spool about 100 yards (I know many say less is fine, but I can cast 60 yards or more and want some reserve in case I get a strike when the lure hits the surface) of superline over maybe 25-50 yards of 30 lb test mono, which performs as backing, and prevents problems with drag slip, which may be an issue without backing.

Also, something I learned the hard way... slightly overfill your reel with line, assuming you like a full spool... then perform the following simple steps before using it.