Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How late will spawn be delayed?

How late will spawn be delayed?

Admittedly no expert on fishery biology...but I am just wondering about Spring when "a young man's (Muskie's) fancy turns to thoughts of love." While the calendar and hours of daylight will clearly say it's Spring, water temps will certainly be skewed. So, I'm asking the better informed among us if it is likely that the season (North and South of Hwy 29) will open week(s) before muskies are doing the "nasty?" It already looks like March First seems like no time to be getting a shanty off the ice....just wonder what other adjustments need to occur???

Junker ---- having negative thoughts about the whole ice-out/water temp/spawning/weed growth scenario this year. I'm no expert, but still having negative thoughts ----- Great question !! ------ jimjimjim

I don't know either, but I have heard that snow cover has an insulating effect. We have had extreme cold combined with extreme snow accumulation. It is possible that both will cancel each other out. Another way of predicting may be ice thickness. So, if anyone out there has knowledge about current vs. previous ice thickness, that would be helpful.

Brian

Quote Originally Posted by lelekb View Post
    I don't know either, but I have heard that snow cover has an insulating effect. We have had extreme cold combined with extreme snow accumulation. It is possible that both will cancel each other out. Another way of predicting may be ice thickness. So, if anyone out there has knowledge about current vs. previous ice thickness, that would be helpful.

Brian
    Snow depth in Vilas/Oneida is 30-36", but I don't have first-hand knowledge of ice depth. Two weeks ago Rob Manthei told me about 20", which is less than you'd think given the extreme cold. It's apparent the snow is doing a good job of insulating the ice.

There is more snow west and north of here. Around Ashland, the snow depth is 40-46" in the woods.