Thread: Abu garcia ambassadeur 5000

Abu garcia ambassadeur 5000

I am considering giving musky fishing a try. I have caught musky by accident but never actually targeted them.
    Currently my heaviest gear is medium action walleye gear.
    I have an old Abu Garcia Ambassadeur 5000 real that was given to me.
    Would this be a good reel to put on a MH musky rod?
    What type/weight line is needed for musky fishing?

Thanks in advance,
    Brian

Hi Brian:

Welcome to the sport. The Abu you described will work and be extremely durable, but you'll find, with time, it has its limitations. 20-25 years ago it was state of the art, now not so much. Use it, get your start with it, and if you find yourself wanting more there are smoother options with infinite anti-reverse and a wide selection of handles, from comfortable paddles to power handles.

Spool up with a braided, Spectra-fiber line. It won't stretch, so you'll be able to maneuver your baits more easily and get better hooksets, and it won't rot or deteriorate so you can use it from year to year. Grand Slam Braid, PowerPro, Tuf Line, Cortland, Vicious and Suffix, among others, are all pretty good. I'm currently using Grand Slam Braid and really like it.

The one caveat to braided line is you need to choose it according to its diameter, rather than breaking strength. While 30- or 40-pound test would seem to be sufficient for muskies, its diameter is only the equivalence of 8- or 10-pound test monofilament and lots can go wrong with line that thin. Most musky fishermen use 80- or 100-pound test braid, which has a manageable diameter equivalent to 18- or 20-pound test mono.