Thread: Smaller Vilas County Lake Lure Advice

Smaller Vilas County Lake Lure Advice

Ok guys a little advice please:
    Since this is my first time targetting musky and I am going solo I am sure I am over thinking this but here is what I have tied on:
    Bluegill colored spring dawg
    Black River Bait Musky Freak
    #6 Blue Fox Buck tail

With the cold front looking like it's going to hit on Saturday are these decent choices for the lake I am thinking of hitting (less than 500 acres)? Water temp will provbably be in the low 60's I am guessing? Like I said I am probably overthinking it but had to ask.

You're the guy going to Wildcat right?

Used to fish there...They really like twitched minnow baits there, like a 6' grandma or a 7" shallow raider. perch or Walleye pattern both work well. Also the soft tail phantom is pretty much a killer on most WI lakes including that one, orange or firetiger pattern always get it done for me. There's a couple spots with sloppy weeds, you can use your top water there.

Bucktails can always work of course, but with the chillier weather I would bet the twitched minnow bait gets bit more there like it used to for us.

I would keep the spring dog in the tackle box if I were you

I have a few grandmas and some super shad raps and baby jerko's, and x rap sub walks. Guess I will try one of those.

When fishing Wisconsin, regardless of lake size, you can never go wrong with something that looks like a perch, sucker, crappie, cisco or bluegill. (You can follow my preferences in the order I listed them.) You don't need to have ciscoes in the lake to use a cisco-colored bait because lots of lakes have shiners in them and there isn't much difference in color.

I like orange-bellied perch on darker water lakes and white-bellied perch on clear water lakes. Firetiger is another perch variation and tends to be best in darker water or low light conditions.