Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Reel Issues Little Help

Reel Issues Little Help

Hey,
    I have an abu garcia ambassadeur C4. I have been fishing for muskies for about 6 months now with this reel. It casts and retrieves great. However, when I hook a fish the reel seems to lock up when I try to reel it in. Even when the fish runs at the boat it will stay locked until there is a scary amount of slack. I have only lost one fish despite my troubles, but one is one too many. Typically I have the star drag locked down. We don't have big enough fish in VA to worry about breaking fish off. Let me know what you think. Thanks

J

RE: Reel Issues Little Help

I've had similar problems with reels 2 of my reels with graphite frames. I used them for jig fishing rigs. I'm really not sure why, but they operate (cast and retrieve) fine until I hook a fish, then they seem to bind intermittently when attempting to reel in the fish.

After taking them apart, lubing and putting them back together twice and not clearing the issue, I've put them on the shelf and don't use them any more.

I'm really not sure what the problem is, but the only thing in common is graphite frames, which aren't as stiff as metal.

Interesting. I recently sent it back to Abu and they sent me a new reel with no explanation. I was happy, but still curious. I haven't hooked up with a fish with the new reel yet. A friend uses the same kind and has no issues so hopefully the old one just had a bug. Ill keep the graphite v.s metal reels in mind thanks.

It sounds like the anti-reverse bearing. The reason they sent you a new reel is because this bearing is pressed into the side plate. It can be changed, but not easily. All should be good now!!

Same thing with my C4. Sent it in, sent me a new one no questions asked. New one does the same thing. Thinking about sending it in and asking for the older version of the 6501 C4, which I loved for jerkbaits! This new model is not the same.