PDA

View Full Version : flourocarbon leaders

bpnash58
08-26-2009, 01:57 AM
I am starting to use flourocarbon leaders but have no idea what pound strength and what length I should buy. Also are these leaders acceptable for jerk baits? I troll and cast.

rpieske
08-26-2009, 06:42 AM
I've been making my own for years. I use 100 lb. test in about 14"-16" length. Most folks seem to think that 130 lb. test is better, but in all my years I have never had a problem with the 100 lb. I fish muskies over 100 days per year. I still have the same leaders on that I started the season with. If you get a slice or a little tag standing out from the leader, it's time to replace it. Abrasion on the leader is not normally a problem.

Semper Fi
Bob Pieske

MikeHulbert
08-26-2009, 08:26 AM
If you want to be safe and sure that you have the right product, you can't go wrong with leaders from Stealth Tackle.

I have been using the 130 pound for a few years and have now switched to the 150 pound flouro leaders.

http://www.stealthtackle.net

Steve Heiting
08-26-2009, 10:42 AM
Hi:

I too have been using the Stealth leaders exclusively this year, in the 130# variety. It is amazing how these leaders hold up, and I've had zero problems. It's a great product, and I believe they help fool more and bigger fish.

Are they acceptable for jerkbaits? Absolutely. The only lure type that I seem to get less movement from with fluoro is walk-the-dog topwaters like Jackpots, Weagles and the like, for which a stiff wire jerkbait leader is a better choice although fluoro will suffice. I just seem to get more glide from this type of bait with a wire leader.

Steve Heiting

www.steveheiting.com

AWH
08-26-2009, 09:00 PM