Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Best Musky reel on the market

Best Musky reel on the market

Hi Guys,

I have a few Abu Garcia Ambassador reels that i was looking to upgrade. I was liking the reels but now the drag has stopped working and it is a lot of work to reel in double cowgirls. I was wondering if anybody has a fix to the drag issue and what everyone's preference is towards musky reels. I have been doing some reading on reels and looking around in stores and from what i found the Abu Garcia Revo Toro Beast was the best on the market. Any input? Another question i had was what length of rod i should be using for casting.
    Thanks!

It's rare for drags to just quit working. Did you recently put new line on the reels? If so, and you used braided line (or even the old dacron) and didn't use monofilament for backing, or tape the line to the reel, it's common for the line to pull off the spool as if the drag quit. What's actually happening is the line is spinning on the spool (because it's so slick) while the spool isn't actually turning.

If the drags are indeed shot, it's best to send them to somebody who specializes in reel repair to get them fixed right. Sportsman's Repair https://www.sportsmansrepair.com in Mosinee, WI, or Mat's Reel Repair https://www.matsreelrepair.com/home.html in Eagle River, WI, are both excellent.

The Revo Toro Beast is a very good reel but I wouldn't call it the best on the market. Other good reels are Shimano's Tranx, Conquest or Calcutta series, or Daiwa's Luna 300 or Lexa series. For Cowgirls and similar baits, you'll want something with a lower gear ratio of 5:1 or less to ease the retrieve.

Re: rod length, always consider going long. Rods are levers, and the longer they are the easier it is to do something with them. For my preferences, visit http://www.steveheiting.com/tackle-e...commendations/
    Steve Heiting

www.steveheiting.com

Quote Originally Posted by cje View Post
    Hi Guys,