Thread: Newbie Rod and reel questions

Newbie Rod and reel questions

I'm a novice to muskie fishing, went on a charter and had a bunch of fun and want to get into it regularly. I troll for salmon and trout on Lake O occasionally and am familiar with the basics. I have a ton of salmon trolling gear and a big net and hook cutters, Big needle nose pliers, lots of lures between bulldogs, bucktails, etc. I am looking for my first muskie rod and reel setup. I will be casting but here's the "catch" I'm only 5'4" tall. I guess the long rods are the best but if I'm going to spend the day casting for muskie or tigers I am going to be dying with these monster things I imagine. Anyone got any good suggestions? I am considering the 9 ft TI but I am thinking these things are pretty intimidating as it is. And I am not very good with the bait caster reels but I understand they are the tools of the trade. Anyone recommend a good combo for a shorter dude who is just starting, to go out and hammer some fish with? I get a lot of my equipment used so preferably not super expensive brand new. I know it's an expensive sport to get into and don't want junk but for someone that might go out for them 6 times a year or so I don't wanna break the bank. Thanks for any suggestions.

Don't worry about longer rods being difficult to use. My oldest grandson is about 4-foot-2 and can cast an 8-foot rod with no problem. By those parameters, you should be fine with an 8-6 or 9-0. There are lots of advantages to longer rods -- longer casts, better lure manipulation, better hooksets, they're more forgiving at boatside, and they make bigger figure-8's. There are a lot of good rods on the market, and I've used St. Croix for nearly 30 years. For someone getting into the sport, Croix's Musky Mojo lineup is an outstanding value for the money.